The merge feature is useful when you have to bring changes from an old version into the currently published version.
For example, you could be testing the old version in Dev or QA environments and it is finally ready to be merged into the Prod environment. Using this built-in feature, you can pick older changes, merge them in the current version, and continue to save and publish as usual.
This feature does not support profile libraries.
Show version relationship
Enabling this checkbox in the Versions tab highlights the origin path, showing how each version is related to the other versions in the publish history. This is important because the origin path is your visual guide for determining which versions you can or cannot merge.
How it works
Two versions can be merged only if they have branched away from the same origin or ancestor. What does this mean? Take a moment to trace the path of publish history in your profile. You will notice that saved (overwritten) versions have lined up in the same origin path, whereas saved-as versions have branched away into distinct paths. Merging is possible only when the versions – current and incoming – are present in distinct paths.
Here’s a sample publish history with the 2 as the current version.
As you can see,
- Version 1 is NOT in the same path as version 2, which means they can be merged. This is also true for version 1.1.
- Version 2 and the initial publish are lined up in the same path, which is why they cannot be merged.
Merging changes into current session
In the Versions tab, identify the version you want to merge. Changes from that version are treated as incoming changes.
Make sure that the incoming and current versions are in distinct origin paths.
Click the drop-down arrow next to the incoming version and then select Merge changes into current session.
In the next window, select the changes you wish to add, update, or remove in the current version.
Review and confirm the changes. Then click the Merge button to complete the merge.
Save/Publish the current version. You have the option to perform a Save or a Save As.
Here’s a quick video tutorial on how to merge changes between versions:
Resolving merge conflicts
Conflicts arise if the versions contain two distinct instances of the same Tealium iQ element. For example, a certain load rule condition with a date range in the old version will conflict and collide with same load rule condition without a date range in the current version. Merging them is not possible unless you accept one instance of the element and discard the other.
To resolve a conflict from the Merge Changes window,
Click the eye icon to reveal the conflicting changes.
Read the configurations and determine which instance you wish to keep.
Click the Use this bar to move your desired change into the Accepted column. Unaccepted changes will be discarded before merging.
Click Next and review the final changes before merging.
Click Merge and proceed to Save/Publish your version.
Resolving merge errors
The following are common errors, and their solutions:
- Version cannot be merged
- Cannot Merge Version
- Unable to Merge
- Sorry you don’t have the required permission to perform this action
Alert message: “Version cannot be merged”
This message informs you that the version cannot be merged because it is lined up in the same origin path as the current version. You will notice this message for other versions that are also lined up in the same path.
Solution: Make sure that the current and incoming versions belong to distinct origin paths.
Alert message: “Cannot Merge Version”
This message appears when you attempt to merge any unsaved or pending changes, whether they are in the current or incoming versions.
Solution: Save/Publish the version in question before merging.
Alert message: “Unable to Merge”
This alert informs you that the merge operation has failed due to one or more reasons. Here are the possibilities:
“You do not have permissions to resource locks.”
This indicates that certain changes are secured by resource locks. You cannot perform the merge operation unless you have the required permissions to access or edit any resource locks. This error may occur when merging between versions or between concurrent users.
Solution: Make sure your account admin grants you the Manage Resource Locks permission.
“Current version is linked to the library”
This informs you that one of the versions, either current or incoming, is still linked to a library. This scenario may occur when you attempt to merge between versions. Merging is NOT supported for linked libraries.
Solution: Make sure to unlink the libraries from both current and incoming versions. To do that, navigate to Account Admin » Manage Profiles and click Remove next to the library that needs to be unlinked.
Alert Message: Sorry you don’t have the required permission to perform this action…
Solution: Contact your Account Manager for further assistance.
Thank you for your feedback!
This page was last updated: January 7, 2023