Version history

To view a history of your saves and publishes, go to Client-Side Versions.

ClientSideVersionOverviewUserMasked
  • Currently published revisions display as blue folders.
  • Previous revisions display as gray folders.
  • Versions display on a new level.
  • Revisions within a version display on the same level.
  • The blue pin indicates the version you are viewing.

View filters

You can filter which versions display by checking one or more of the following filters:

  • Version title (default is timestamp)
  • Users
  • Version labels
  • Default publish environments (Dev, QA, Prod, and Custom)
  • Published/Unpublished saves
  • Time range (in days)
Clien Side Version Filters - Mask User

Version options

Click the down arrow next a version title to perform one of the following actions:

Expand and Hide Details
  • Switch to this Version
    Click on another version. Use this option to load other (prior and subsequent) versions. Switching to a different version automatically moves the pin icon next to the title of the version being viewed.
  • Expand/Hide Details
    Displays the publish timestamp, environments and username of the user that published the version. Use this option to view and download the utag files for each environment.
  • Rename
    Rename the version to a more descriptive title.
  • Make a Copy
    Allows you to duplicate the current version. Duplicating a version saves it and adds “Duplicate of… " to the beginning of the version name. It does not automatically publish. You can switch back to the saved version and perform a publish.
  • Show Notes since this Version
    Displays the notes for the version in question as well as its subsequent publishes. Notes are sorted in the order of their publish. Notes for the saved versions are indented within their parent version.

Merge changes into current session

This option only appears if there are changes available to merge into the current session. Click to merge a prior version into the current version. Both the incoming and current versions must originate from the same origin or ancestor. To determine which versions you can or cannot merge, select the Show Version Relationship filter in the dashboard. The version list is highlighted to show how each version is related to the others.

Publish a previous version

You can switch back to a previous version of your account and republish it to any environment. The republished version will contain the configurations or settings of the old version.

Use the following steps to switch back to a previous version:

  1. Go to iQ Tag Management > Client-Side Versions.
    All versions appear: Published, Unpublished, and Currently Deployed. A blue pin icon indicates the current verson. Blue buttons indicate currently deployed versions whereas gray buttons point to older versions.
    Versions Current Version Pin
  2. Click the down arrrow on the previous version desired and select Switch to this version.
    The following alert message appears at the top of the sreen:
    You are viewing an old version. Switch to the latest version: Version Name
  3. Click Save/Publish in the top-right corner of the console.
  4. Select an environment in which to republish: Dev, QA, or Prod.
  5. Add notes about the changes made to the version.
  6. Click Save As andthen click the Publish button to confirm.
    Blue Pin Moves to Latest Saved Version
    The blue pin icon moves to display next to the version published.

View a published utag.js file

Use the following steps to view a published utag.js file:

  1. In the currently published version, click the down arrow and select Expand Details.
  2. Click the down arrow to the left of Dev Publish Details to expand.
  3. Click View utag.js.
    View utag_js
    The corresponding utag.js file opens in a new tab.

Use the diff tool

Use the diff tool to compare two published versions and review the code changes from their distro files. Code differences between versions are highlighted and presented side by side, making it a easy to distinguish the changes.

Distro File Comparison

For additonal details, see the version diff tool article.

Merge changes between versions

Merging changes is a built-in feature that makes it easy to bring changes from an older version into the currently-published version. You can only merge two versions if they have branched away from the same origin or ancestor. To learn more, see Merge into current session.

Versions_Merge Into Current Session.png

Was this page helpful?

This page was last updated: January 7, 2023