Managing server-side user permissions FAQ

This article describes how to manage server-side users and permission roles for the Tealium Customer Data Hub.

Frequently Asked Questions

If a user is removed from the client-side profile, is the user also removed from the server-side profile?

No. When a user exists in both client-side and server-side, removing the user from one does not impact the other.

Can I grant a user access to a server-side profile without allowing access to a client-side profile?

Yes. If a user already exists in the account and has been granted permission to a profile on the server-side, go to iQ Tag Management > Manage Users and remove that user from the client-side interface. For more information, see Add a server-side only user above.

How does the “All current and future profiles” option impact server-side permissions?

There is no impact to server-side users. All server-side users have the default permission role of No Access to all new server-side profiles.

What happens if a user has access to only one profile on the server-side and no profile access on the client-side?

If the user selects server-side at the login screen, they are automatically loaded into the account/profile accordingly. If the user attempts to log in to the client-side, a modal displays a denied access message.

Can a server-side admin change their own permissions for server-side profiles?

Yes. A server-side admin user (granted by the Manage Account permission) can change permissions for all server-side users, including their own.

Can a server-side admin update manage permissions for all server-side profiles?

Yes. A server-side admin user’s access is granted by the Manage Account permission, which is an account-level permission. Users with this permission level have access to the Manage Users screen in the server-side interface where they can manage user permissions for all profiles.

How do the new server-side permissions affect the Omnichannel File Status API?

Access control to the Omichannel File Status API will change upon final release of the server-side permissions feature. In addition to the standard requirement of needing an API key to authenticate with the API, users must have read access to the relevant Customer Data Hub account. Users using the v1 API only need read access to the Customer Data Hub account.

Can a server-side admin add new users to an account?

No. The Manage Account permission does not grant access to add new users or delete users from an account. While they can remove access to profiles, only users who have the Manage Users permission assigned in the iQ Tag Management workflow can invite a new user to an account or completely delete a user from an account.

Does this feature change the way user management access is granted or controlled within TiQ?

No. The Manage Users permission in iQ Tag Management remains the permission that grants a user access to add or remove users from a business account. Users with only the Manage Users permission do not have access to manage permissions on the server-side.

Was this page helpful?

This page was last updated: January 7, 2023